On Being a Writer: Send (Chapter 6)

I’m joining with the online discussion group that Kate Motaung is hosting on her blog Heading Home, based on the book On Being a Writer: 12 Simple Habits for a Writing Life that Lasts, by Ann Krocker & Charity Singleton Craig. Today’s chapter is Send.    

The very first article I sent to a magazine was published, which was encouraging but also set me up for great discouragement when the first rejection letter came. I needed the advice given in today’s post: “Get up, dust yourself off, and keep writing,” but I didn’t respond that way. I did send in a few more queries, but when the rejection letters continued to come in I gave up. That was over ten years ago, and I haven’t send in an idea for an article since then.

About two months ago, I felt the Lord telling me it’s time to start writing again. I realized I needed to develop my rusty writing skills, so I started the process by doing a weekly blog post. The writer’s market has changed a lot in the last ten years, so I also am using some of my writing time learning about some of the online publications. I recognize that sending in query letters to publications will be the next step I need to take, and I commit to take this step with fear and trembling.

When I’ll take this step of sending queries or stories for publication is still uncertain. I’m working on story-telling skills right now, to give my articles a hook that will make the readers want to know what comes next. I feel like I have so much more to learn, but I also think I’m making progress.  And I believe writing for publication – beyond the few people who read my blog posts – is in my future.  I’m asking the Lord to show me when the time is right to make this leap forward, and until then I’m focusing on the lessons I’m learning now. I know if I don’t quit, I’ll eventually get to the point where my writing goals will be fulfilled!

image

Leave a Reply

