Discover: When I Write, I Find Myself (Chapter 8)

I’m joining with the online discussion group that Kate Motaung is hosting on her blog Heading Home, based on the book On Being a Writer: 12 Simple Habits for a Writing Life that Lasts, by Ann Krocker & Charity Singleton Craig. Today’s chapter is Discover.

I do two main types of writing, some in a journal that only I will read, and some in a blog or article that will be published for others to see. For me, finding myself through writing mostly applies to the writing I do for myself, in my journal.

When I’m struggling with something, such as the rapid decline in my health over the past few months, journaling is a healthy release. Often, writing about what is going on, applying Scripture to my situation, helps me understand what I need to do. In essence, by journaling, I bring the Lord Jesus Christ into my situation, giving me a clearer view of how I need to respond.

Let me give an example. Tomorrow, I’ll receive the results on an MRI on my cervical spine that was done last week. My doctor ordered the test because I’ve had frequent headaches, increased back pain, and numbness in my right foot since a pain injection in my cervical spine two months ago. Tomorrow, I meet with my doctor to go over the results, and this morning I was feeling anxious.

Today turned out to be a good day, because I took the time to bring God into the picture. I reminded myself that He already knows the results, and He will give me wisdom in any choices that need to be made. This process helps me to “discover myself” as God wants me to be, helping me see the situation from His perspective.

When I’m writing for other eyes to see, the process of bringing my emotions under control and bringing God into the situation has already been completed. The inner battle has been won, and I can write from a place of victory to encourage others who may be facing similar circumstances.

image

7 thoughts on “Discover: When I Write, I Find Myself (Chapter 8)

  1. hi barbara, i’m your next door neighbor at kate’s:) i enjoyed your post today. it is interesting to read your philosophy of blogging. i think it probably reflects your gifts as well:) your desire seems to be to show how to walk by faith. i’m more interested in helping people understand the process a little. when i was a kid, i didn’t understand that process. i just tho’t no one else struggled. i tho’t i was the weird one who did. it interesting how GOD uses each combination of people in a group to grow them and encourage them isn’t it?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for your reply. You’re right that my philosophy of blogging does reflect my spiritual gifts, which is primarily teaching. I want to share the things I learn so others will be helped by my experiences.

    Like

  3. Prayers for you! I’m not a very good journaler. I’ll start and be consistent for awhile but then it falls completely off. Maybe I need to try again.

    Like

  4. I love your post, Barbara, and I also find writing helps me bring God into the situation and see it more from his perspective. Praying for you as you wait to hear about the test results.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Barbara, you voiced your thoughts on this issue well (I had great trouble finding conclusions to my reflections on this prompt). I hope your results were hopeful and that you have managed to find peace, through Him, if they were not as hopeful as you would have liked. Helen

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

